posted by
katherine_b at 09:28pm on 15/11/2005
Those who follow my adventures may remember me talking about feeling ill and generally pants. If not, please feel free to remind yourself here and at various intervals since then. Well, I had a CT scan two weeks ago, which was clear (thankfully) and today I went to see a neurologist. The result of that was that I now have a diagnosis. I'm suffering from vestibular neuronitis. Basically, it's to do with the inner ear. One of the vestibular nerves leading to my brain (those are the ones that send the 'I'm standing up okay and everything's find down this end, thanks' messages) are being squeezed by inflammation in the surrounding tissue. As a result, they're actually sending 'oh, God, help, I think I'm going to die here' messages, which my brain somehow interprets as 'oh, God, I'm falling over and thus I should be suffering badly from vertigo and general crappiness, so let's just all indulge in that for a few moments shall we? Jolly good!' feelings and shares them with the rest of my body. Hence me feeling like I'm about to keel over at odd intervals.
The bad news is that there is not a lot I can do about it. Eventually my brain will learn to ignore what my neurologist fondly called the 'crap' it is receiving from my squashed nerves and I won't get vertigo, etc., anymore. Until then, I just have to keep moving as much as I can and give in when I feel really bad. Which I think is good news... :-/
Oh, and I have to have an MRI on Friday, just to check it's only a virus that's causing the inflammation around the vestibular nerve, and not, say, a tumor. But as there was nothing on the CT, I'm not worried about it, and neither is my neurologist. So yay for that.
Okay, back to your regular scheduled 'Peace publication' party! *puts on party hat again*
The bad news is that there is not a lot I can do about it. Eventually my brain will learn to ignore what my neurologist fondly called the 'crap' it is receiving from my squashed nerves and I won't get vertigo, etc., anymore. Until then, I just have to keep moving as much as I can and give in when I feel really bad. Which I think is good news... :-/
Oh, and I have to have an MRI on Friday, just to check it's only a virus that's causing the inflammation around the vestibular nerve, and not, say, a tumor. But as there was nothing on the CT, I'm not worried about it, and neither is my neurologist. So yay for that.
Okay, back to your regular scheduled 'Peace publication' party! *puts on party hat again*
satisfied
(no subject)
Ok, then party, sure, lets get on with it then! *turns up the music a little*
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Diagnoses really do help, emotionally at least.
(no subject)
(no subject)
*Hugs*
Hope your brain is super-efficient and gets used to the signals in no time at all!
(no subject)
(no subject)
I find it irritating enough to go through periods when I faint on standing up on a regular basis (I'm in one now, which has reminded me how frustrating it is) so I don't like to think about what it'd be like to feel like that at random times anyway - and probably worse.
But yay for peace publication! *is awaiting her copy impatiently*
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Thanks for the update, will be thinking of you.
(no subject)
You might get lucky KB, and just have your head put in, rather than your whole body :D Either way - hope it goes ok!
Likewise, I hope the inflammation sorts itself out soon so that you can feel better :)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Hope the MRI goes ok
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Out of curiousity, why aren't they going to give you drugs to make the inflammation go away?
(no subject)
(no subject)
Maybe you should ask the doc next time? Be like, Hey, why am I not getting something to just make the inflammation go away?
(no subject)
(no subject)
And SQQQQQUUUUUEEEEEEEEEEEEE about Peace, I'm so excited!
(no subject)
::passes box of chocolates::
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)