katherine_b: (Jarod Pretender - giggles)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] katherine_b at 11:41am on 29/10/2005 under
After reading about it so often on [livejournal.com profile] kannaophelia's LJ, I finally yielded yesterday and bought Sims2 for myself as a birthday present. I played it for a few hours yesterday and about 1.5 hours today. Suspect that means I am already somewhat hooked. I'm not very good yet, but better than I was when I started, so I imagine I will improve. Any tips for a beginner?

And yes, in case you were wondering, I believe this is proof that I have finally snapped... *goes off to look for straws for my hair*
Mood:: 'busy' busy
Music:: Best of Foreigner
There are 12 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] blademistress.livejournal.com at 03:08am on 29/10/2005
Tips... well don't bother buying the stragedy guide thing you can get on it. They're about $30 and don't have that much good stuff to warrent the money.

In terms of game play... I'd recommend creating two new characters both of them being Family sims. That way you can learn the interactions and stuff without having to deal with conflicting Wants. It's also a good way of learning how to bring up the kiddies. Don't ever, ever try and have more than two toddlers in a house. If you have twins then put them in seperate rooms, because one crying will wake the other. Same goes for babies.

Oh and you will so need hacks. Mod the Sims2. Once upon a time was a great site with all sorts of very useful hacks. Now it's been invaded by 'tweens and such, but there's still good stuff if you can navigate it. Various Simers where everyone moved to. Divided into people's forums. I wholeheartedly recommend TwoJeffs stuff. Makes life so much easier, but be careful what you download because you don't have the expansions. And MoreAwesomethanyou.com which belongs to someone who used to put their stuff on those other two sites but now has their own. All very handy stuff. Lot of bug fixes.

And on the prettier side Peggy sims such pretty skins and stuff. They have a paid part and free, the free stuff is just as good.

You've downloaded the update from the official site, right? It's got some fixes to a lot of the errors in the game. If you're going to go into expansions then I'd recommend Nightlife (which is too flashy for my computer unfortunately and makes it lag) but only get Uni if you're getting it free. Otherwise it's just not really worth it.
 
posted by [identity profile] kannaophelia.livejournal.com at 08:06am on 29/10/2005
If you're going to go into expansions then I'd recommend Nightlife (which is too flashy for my computer unfortunately and makes it lag)

I actually had the exact opposite thing. The original game alone or + Uni, most of the town lots and large lots were two slow to bother with, let alone my households of eight or more Sims, especially when they had guests over. Once I added Nightlife, they moved fast and smooth.

I'm going to counter-warn against the hacks. Many add problems that are only evident later. Install same-sex pregnancy and two weeks later your Sims don't get promoted at work properly. Besides, making things too easy strips the fun out of the game...

But then, I love and adore the Uni expansion. Adds a whole new gameplay mode, much like Superstar did for S1, as well s an entire new stage of aging.

As for tips... it all depends on your gameplay mode. I'm only ever interested in reaching the top of the career if that's their lifelong want - mostly I play for the pure soap opera of the thing.

My main tip is make saving up for expensive baths a priority. Seriously. They make life so much easier. And dishwashers. And don't buy beds that are too good, either, or you'll throw their natural rhythms off, which can be a pain when you're trying to get them in a good mood for work. I agree that Family Sims are easier... Romance Sims are most fun. Money Sims are good if you want Sims obsessed with buying curtains, which I find hysterically funny. Popularity Sims are useful if you care about career paths.

Focus on getting cooking skills up at first.... drill drill drill with the bookcases, don't let them watch anything but the cooking channel. The magic milk reward is a boon for toddlers. Kids learn *fast*, don't worry about their grades beyond keeping them passing until they're teens and get them to rack up logic, mechanical, cleaning, creative and cooking points. Toddlers should focus on charisma. And Teen Sims help look after babies and toddlers... as do guests. Ask over some friends if your new Sims are struggling.

It's easier to get through the early stages of friendship by ringing up to chat than in person... ask them over when they're alreadly 50+ and unlikely to reject friendly interactions. Or make some enemies, 'cos it's fun.
 
posted by [identity profile] blademistress.livejournal.com at 08:25am on 29/10/2005
I actually had the exact opposite thing. The original game alone or + Uni, most of the town lots and large lots were two slow to bother with, let alone my households of eight or more Sims, especially when they had guests over. Once I added Nightlife, they moved fast and smooth.

That's what happened when I installed Uni. Seeing as I'm actually running below minimum specs it's not surprising. Nightlife is playable, there is just sooo much lag when anything happens to do with the cars that I haven't been bothered dealing with it.

I'm going to counter-warn against the hacks. Many add problems that are only evident later. Install same-sex pregnancy and two weeks later your Sims don't get promoted at work properly. Besides, making things too easy strips the fun out of the game...

Yeah. You have to be careful. I had a lot of hacks, and I don't know how it happened by one of them - somehow - killed autonomy. They just stood there. Staring. Whoops. Unfortunately I lost the link but there was a post with 200 errors and links to the fixes in them. That's really what I mean by hacks because my Uni went down in a big ball of unplayable fire without them.


Oh yeah. Splurge on the bed. And it's always amusing to watch a (male) sim constantly be finicky about the price of his cabinets. Heh.
 
posted by [identity profile] kannaophelia.livejournal.com at 08:38am on 29/10/2005
They've just watched a family member die in a fire, and all they care about is that their curtains are too cheap. Heh.

Lag is a killer... It was like a miracle when Nightlife fixed it for me. Suddenly I get to play with the original families and let them go on dates all the time.

and I don't know how it happened by one of them - somehow - killed autonomy. They just stood there. Staring. Whoops.

Urk.

I'm playing clean now... I miss same-sex pregnancy desperately, because adopted kids are always ugly - there's a tip for you, Katherine! - but I keep a house to install sperm donors/surrogates that look like their partners, and mentally edit them out of the plot. ~grin~ Het couples are so much easier, but I'm not up for a neighbourhood without at least a sprinkling of lavender.

Unfortunately I lost the link but there was a post with 200 errors and links to the fixes in them.

WANT. They can never ask their dates home right now, because they just start walking in circles...
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:23pm on 29/10/2005
I saw Nightlife for $20 at one computer shop, so I should get it while it's cheap.

Thanks for those tips, though, they're great. I shall take note! And I'm not having kids for a while yet. Want to get used to one person before I branch out! And I keep trying to use the phone, but people wander in without being invited, and one guy keeps calling my sim and reminding her about him! Gah!
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:18pm on 29/10/2005
*lol* Well, I got the guide for about $7 with the game, so I'm afraid it's a bit late. Thanks, though. *g*

And on your suggestion, I have now made my own family, which was a lot easier than playing some of the others. She's far less demanding (so far)! I'm not touching the kids yet, though. It's hard enough controlling one sim, let alone three or more!

Er, what are 'hacks'?

I got the download upon your suggestion. I don't know about expansions yet, as I'm barely used to the actual game! *lol* However, I did see Nightlife for $20, so it might be a good idea to snap it up now.
 
posted by [identity profile] blademistress.livejournal.com at 09:38pm on 29/10/2005
That's okay. I payed $30 for it and while it's helpful it's not *thirty dollars* helpful.

Hacks or 'mods' (standing for modifications) are user made additions that can change things in the game. You download them and put them in your Downloads (located in the My Documents>EA Games>Sims 2> (if not there then you can create it)) folder, each one does different things. There are some really handy and safe ones like the abduction pie menu, which means you can select if you want your sim abducted when using the telescope. That's just one I can think of off the top of my head but it there is always a risk, as they are not official Maxis things.
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:41pm on 29/10/2005
Aha, now I get it. And I will have to look and see which ones may be useful to me. Thanks. *hugs*
 
posted by [identity profile] antiqueskies.livejournal.com at 06:44am on 29/10/2005
Gaaaah, is everyone falling to this beast? I admit, I have the original Sims, but I honestly only use it as character torture. I don't think I've ever won the damn game. I had more fun designing the houses and stuff...

I find [livejournal.com profile] blademistress's icon ironic. In that I'm totally misusing the word "ironic" but you'll understand what I mean anyway because no one uses it right.
 
posted by [identity profile] blademistress.livejournal.com at 08:33am on 29/10/2005
Part of the appeal of sims2 is the new ways to kill them. Though when bored I once made Black Books sims. And then was slightly disturbed by the result. Bernard sim, canonically a drunken smoking bastard spent all his time at the bar. He'd roll out of bed and stumble to the bar every morning. And Manny sim got very jealous of Bernard's girl friend, so much so that he rolled the want of "Destroy X's tombstone" which was odd, as she wasn't dead... He spent his time in the bath taking endless bubble baths. This would be all very freaky if you'd ever watched the show.

I guess it is a little, if you think about it.
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:24pm on 29/10/2005
Ooh, that is very disturbing! (Quite accurate though. *lol*) And I want to eventually make a Pretender community, but I have to get used to one or two characters first!
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:23pm on 29/10/2005
*lol* Well, I held out for a while...

And character torture is fun! I am going to make up a Pretender set and see what happens. It might be fodder for a new fic. *g*

December

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
8
 
9 10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31