katherine_b: (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] katherine_b at 07:19am on 27/12/2004
First, I've just realised that I've had this LJ for more than a year. Apologies for you not getting a party or anything. *pats*

And in other news, Christmas Day went really well. Mum hasn't had any more seizures since she got home from hospital (thank goodness!!) and it's been lovely and peaceful here. I did a traditional Christmas lunch, although we cheated a bit on the turkey (turkey roll, not the real thing, but I'm not up to a full fowl!). Mum honestly hasn't stopped saying how nice it was since we finished it (a day and a half ago). She got all guilt-ridden and teary while I was cooking, saying that she wouldn't have had to cook a meal like that at my age and it's rough that I have to. While all those things might be true, she was working at my age and I'm still bludg... er, studying. Yes, studying. Ahem.

Santa was very good to me!
* New stereo, so now I only have one in my room, but the CD player, the radio and the cassette parts of it all work, in comparison to its predecessors. This also means I have *shock, horror* room on top of my bookcase, which used to be occupied by a stereo. Yay! (At this stage it's decorated by knick-knacks, but if it doesn't end up with books on it, I will be very surprised.)
* An Autobiography of "The Pythons", written by the Monty Pythons themselves.
* A gorgeous book called 'Parlour Games', which has EBD-like games in it that could be used for future Chalet stories. Some of them are fiendishly difficult!
* A new bedspread, as my old one is pretty ratty. I have to buy a frill for the bed to match it today. I was avoiding the Boxing Day sales yesterday. (And taking the chance to watch the measly 2.5 hours of the Boxing Day Test that Channel Nein grudgingly put up for us.)
* A new pedometer that actually talks to me (and is a wee bit freaky).

All in all, very respectable! The family presents included a George Foreman grill and roaster, but we're a little disappointed with them, as they are teeny! Good for two people, but not really three. You can't, for instance, fit three chicken fillets on to it. Hmm.

I watched Carnivale with my parents last night and we've all decided that it's a very odd show. Still, I like it. It makes a nice change from reality TV!

Now I have to get back to working on my thesis and on "Peace". I meant to do some yesterday, but I had to go shopping and also to visit my grandmother. Joy.

Have a great New Year everyone!
Mood:: 'cheerful' cheerful
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] angelofharlem.livejournal.com at 08:46pm on 26/12/2004
Why do Channel Nine only give you 2.5 hours of the Australia v. Pakistan test? Is it because they want to encourage people in Melbourne to go to the MCG? I had heard if an Australian test was in your city you didn't get it on TV, but I wasn't sure what the exact policy was. I'm so glad English TV doesn't do that, especially with me now living in the same city as a test match ground. Glad you had a good Christmas by the way!
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:14pm on 29/12/2004
Apologies for not replying to this earlier!

Channel Nine, in their infinite irritation, decided that, if they put the match up for the whole day, people won't turn up, so they only put it on from about 3.30pm to the start of the news at 6pm (unless, for instance, an Australian player is five runs away from a century or something). This gets them a lot of criticism if they miss something big happening, like one year when they missed Shane Warne getting a hat-trick.

It was really bad this year because on the final (fourth) day of the test, the game was over by 2.30pm local time. I went out, so I don't know how they filled in that 2.5 hours, but it's very irritating!

Hope your Christmas was good too!
 
posted by [identity profile] angelofharlem.livejournal.com at 02:25pm on 18/01/2005
So it's perfectly possible I saw more of the Boxing Day test than you did. I love having digital TV! Australia test series are always good to watch, I really enjoyed Australia v. India last year. That Shane Warne hat-trick will have been the one against England in 94/95 won't it?
 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:06pm on 18/01/2005
That sounds like the one. *jealous that you have digital tv*
 
posted by [identity profile] vikkik.livejournal.com at 10:15pm on 26/12/2004
*hugs KB*
I'm so glad you had a good Christmas hunny!
morganmuffle: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] morganmuffle at 12:17am on 27/12/2004
Glad you had a great Christmas, quiet ones are almost always the best. Hope your New Year goes just as well!
 
posted by (anonymous) at 08:21pm on 28/12/2004
*hugs*, I'm glad you had a decent Christmas KB :)

As for the cricket, Sky shows the whole match here!!

 
posted by [identity profile] katherine-b.livejournal.com at 09:29pm on 28/12/2004
*whimpers* I want cable!

December

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
8
 
9 10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31